Doing calculations with the least possible error?

Oct 2015
Greece
I'm an Electrical And Computer Engineer and currently solving simultaneous equations using matrices.

I've noticed that if I keep fraction numbers all the way until the final calculation and then use the calculator to calculate the final answer, I have the least possible error in my calculation.

But If along the way (solving the equation), I'm calculating all the fractions using the calculator, in the end, the answer has a huge error.

For example, right now I finished a 2x2 system with answers x = 2.05 and y = 14.7 while the correct answers are x = 2 and y = 14.

So are my thoughts correct? Because along the way I was calculating fractions, keeping only some of the decimal points, then the final answer had an error equal to the sum of all errors in the previous calculation?

So should I keep fractions untouched until the final calculation?

topsquark

Math Team
May 2013
The Astral plane
I'm an Electrical And Computer Engineer and currently solving simultaneous equations using matrices.

I've noticed that if I keep fraction numbers all the way until the final calculation and then use the calculator to calculate the final answer, I have the least possible error in my calculation.

But If along the way (solving the equation), I'm calculating all the fractions using the calculator, in the end, the answer has a huge error.

For example, right now I finished a 2x2 system with answers x = 2.05 and y = 14.7 while the correct answers are x = 2 and y = 14.

So are my thoughts correct? Because along the way I was calculating fractions, keeping only some of the decimal points, then the final answer had an error equal to the sum of all errors in the previous calculation?

So should I keep fractions untouched until the final calculation?