Understanding ring homomorphisms

Oct 2017
sweden
So trying to study chapters on ring homomophisms and integral domains, and there is this one problem in the book where I just don't get how to show the kind of problems yet (as I'm not yet used to it); the problem is:

Show that the matrices $R=\begin{pmatrix}
a & b \\
0 & a \\
\end{pmatrix}$ for $a,b \in \mathbb{R}$ is a subring of the ring of matrices $M_2(\mathbb{R})$, also find a ring homomorphism such that $\Phi:R \rightarrow \mathbb{R}$ that is onto.

I will appreciate the help as I am very new to ring homomoprhisms.

Last edited by a moderator:

Country Boy

Math Team
Jan 2015
Alabama
You know what a ring is don't you? To show that the set of all matrices of the form \(\displaystyle \begin{pmatrix}a & b \\ 0 & a\end{pmatrix}\) is a ring, you need to show
1) It is closed under matrix addition
\(\displaystyle \begin{pmatrix}p & q\\ 0 & p \end{pmatrix}+ \begin{pmatrix}r & s \\ 0 & t\end{pmatrix}= \begin{pmatrix}p+ r & q+ s \\ 0 & p+ r\end{pmatrix}\) is of that same form.
2) It contains the additive identity: \(\displaystyle \begin{pmatrix}0 & 0 \\ 0 & 0\end{pmatrix}\) is of this form with \(\displaystyle a= b= 0\).
3) Addition is associative.
\(\displaystyle \left(\begin{pmatrix}a & b \\ 0 & a \end{pmatrix}+ \begin{pmatrix}c & d \\ 0 & c\end{pmatrix}\right)+ \begin{pmatrix}e & f \\ 0 & e \end{pmatrix}= \begin{pmatrix}a+ c & b+ d \\ 0 & a+ c\end{pmatrix}+ \begin{pmatrix}e & f \\ 0 & e\end{pmatrix}= \begin{pmatrix} (a+ c)+ e & (b+ d)+ f \\ 0 & (a+ c)+ e\end{pmatrix}\)

\(\displaystyle \begin{pmatrix}a & b \\ 0 & a \end{pmatrix}+ \left(\begin{pmatrix}c & d \\ 0 & c\end{pmatrix}+ \begin{pmatrix}e & f \\ 0 & e \end{pmatrix}\right)= \begin{pmatrix}a & b \\ 0 & a\end{pmatrix}+ \begin{pmatrix}c+e & d+f \\ 0 & c+e\end{pmatrix}= \begin{pmatrix} a+ (c+ e) & b+ (d+ f) \\ 0 & a+ (c+ e)\end{pmatrix}\)

Essentially, that follows from the fact that matrix addition is "element wise" and addition of numbers is "associative".